2 minutes reading time (333 words)

UCEMC Directorate Election August 27 and 28

Voting Hands

One of the guiding principles of an electric cooperative is that it is a democratic organization controlled by its members who actively participate. This year, Upper Cumberland Electric Membership Corporation is counting on its eligible members to get out and vote to fill the seats of three board members whose terms are expiring.

Before UCEMC holds the in-person 83rd Annual Meeting of the Members on September 11, voters must fill these three impending vacancies on the Cooperative’s Board of Directors. The board comprises nine members, and each year, at least three seats are up for election on a rotational basis.

The term of the incumbent director in District One, serving DeKalb, Macon, Smith, and Wilson counties, will expire, as will the term of the incumbent in District Two, serving Putnam and White Counties. In addition, the term of the incumbent in District Three serving Clay, Fentress, Overton, and Pickett counties is expiring.  

Qualifying candidates had a deadline of June 13 to file their petitions with UCEMC’s General Manager, Jennifer Brogdon, or Board secretary Alan Pippin. To keep this process separate from the Board of Directors, UCEMC has a Credentials Committee, which is appointed and acts under the Cooperative’s Bylaws. The Credentials Committee worked independently of the Board and has determined the eligibility of each petitioner to become a qualified candidate. This represents a continuous effort to be transparent and to encourage member participation. See the complete list of candidates at the bottom of this page.

Members may cast their ballots at any of the cooperative’s district offices.

*Due to ongoing construction at the Carthage District One office, members will vote at the UCEMC Corporate office this year.

Polls open Friday, August 27, and Saturday, August 28, from 7 a.m. to 3 p.m.

*Carthage – UCEMC Corporate office – 907 Main Street, Carthage, TN. 37030

Cookeville – 1794 West Broad Street, Cookeville, TN. 38503

Livingston – 320 Celina Highway, Livingston, TN. 38570

Gainesboro – 1085 North Grundy Quarles Highway, Gainesboro, TN. 38562


Directorate Election Results Announced
Auto Auction!

Related Posts

By accepting you will be accessing a service provided by a third-party external to https://www.ucemc.com/